Pinhole Photography

 

Today I have been experimenting with pinhole photography; although it’s a pretty long process, if you get the exposure time perfect you can create some beautiful photos.

A pinhole camera can be made out of pretty much anything, from drinks cans to old shoe boxes, as long as it’s light tight and has a small pinhole for light to reach your photo paper.

14446519_1099460930123409_545334834_o

NEGATIVE IMAGE FROM PINHOLE CAMERA

Once I had taken pinhole camera outside and exposed my photo paper to the light for around 4 minutes I took my paper into the dark room and developed my image. As the print created in the camera is negative I wanted to create a positive image, so once I had created a print that I was happy with I then needed to created a contact print, to do this I placed the original image on top of more photo paper and exposed it to light. After creating a test print of various times I decided a time between 6 and 9 seconds would create the best final image.

14456939_1099473733455462_1128096117_o

TOP: CONTACT PRINT AT 6 SECONDS
BOTTOM: CONTACT PRINT AT 9 SECONDS

 

Leave a Reply

